Select Page

A second place in the opening heat, followed up by a win in the second gave Stuart White, behind the wheel of one of the Scudaria Scribante Lamborghini Huracans, the overall win in the final round of the 2023 G&H Transport Extreme SuperCars championship, held at Zwartkops Raceway on Saturday, 18 November.

In Friday’s practice session, Franco Scribante (Scribante Racing Porsche 997) emerged at the top of the combined timesheets, just dipping under the 59 second mark around the 2.4km circuit. Jonathan du Toit (Trans Africa Racing Lamborghini Huracan GT3 EVO) and White were next up, separated by less than a tenth of a second. White turned the tables in Saturday morning’s qualifying session, claiming pole position with a 58.096 second lap, a tenth of a second quicker than Scibante. They were followed by du Toit and Arnold Neveling (Stradale Motorsport Audi A4 LMS GT3) who filled the second row of the grid. Silvio Scribante (Scuderia Scribnate & Cemza Lamborghini Huracan) and Charl Joubert (A One Bakkie Spares Lotus Elise) were next up ahead of Xolile Letlaka (Into Africa Racing Aston Martin Vantage) and Ricky Giannoccaro (G&H Transport/ ITRE Cugini Logistics Lamborghini Huracan) who rounded out the Class A+ grid.

Charl Arangies opted to drive the Stradale Motorsport Ferrari F430 Challenge instead of the Mercedes AMG GT3 he normally pilots. He set the quickest time in Class A, just ahead of Joseph Ellerine (MJR Motorsport Audi R8 LMS GT4) who led the way in Class B. Next up were a quartet of Class A cars, Nicky Dicks (Curvent Porsche 991 GT3 Cup) leading the way from Gianni Giannoccaro (Gianni Giannoccaro Porsche 997), Ben Morgenrood (Ben Morgenrood Ford Mustang) and Marius Jackson (MJR Motorsport Audi R8 LMS GT3). Andre van Vuuren (Curvent International Porsche 911 RSR) and Uli Sanne (BMW Z4) rounded out the grid.

In the opening 12-lap heat, Franco Scribante dived up the inside of White once the lights went out and set about opening up a lead and leaving White to hold off Silvio Scribante. Behind the leading trio, du Toit led Joubert and Letlaka. Shortly before half-distance, Ellerine, who had been running in close proximity to Class A leader Arangies, was forced to pull off the track and into retirement. Meanwhile, back at the front of the field, the White started to close the gap that Franco Scribante had opened, setting the fastest lap of the race in the process, but the big Porsche had just enough in hand to hold on for the win. White was followed over the line by Silvio Scribante, with du Toit in fourth. Letlaka brought his Aston Martin home in fifth ahead of Joubert and Ricky Giannoccaro. Arangies, in eighth, led the Class A field home from Dicks, Morgenrood, Gianni Giannoccaro and Jackson. Van Vuuren claimed the Class D honours, while Sanne took Class C.

White and Silvio Scribante occupied the front row of the grid for the second race, but again, Franco Scribante got a flier as the lights went out and took the lead going into the first turn, leaving White, Silvio Scribante and du Toit to try and chase him down. White took up the challenge, putting the Porsche under massive pressure as the leading pair opened a gap to Silvo Scribante and du Toit. With just a few laps to go, the rain that had been threatening for most of the afternoon started to fall. Slick tyres and a wet track caught out both Letlaka and Franco Scribante, with the latter dropping to fourth behind White, Silvio Scribante and du Toit. White then had an untroubled run to the flag, but Silvio Scribante had to fight to keep du Toit behind him. Franco Scribante had to settle for fourth, with Joubert next across the line. Ricky Giannoccaro brought his Lamborghini home in sixth ahead of Class A victor Arangies. Ellerine took eighth and Class B, with Dicks and Jackson in ninth and tenth. Van Vuuren in eleventh, took another Class D win while Letlaka was the last classified finisher after his spin.

In the day’s overall standings, White took Class A+ from Silvio Scribante and du Toit. Class A went to Arrangies, with Dicks and Jackson joining him on the podium. Ellerine took Class B, Sanne C, and van Vuuren claimed the Class D honours.

The Extreme SuperCars drivers will get their 2024 championship underway at the 2024 Passion for Speed, which takes place at the Zwartkops International World of Motoring on 26 & 27 January.

Issued by Brandsponential on behalf of G&H Transport Extreme Supercars

Photography by: James Thomson

MSA Publishes media releases from a host of different sources on our website as a service to the sport. It is not practically possible to vet/approve every release that is published. Some news items and articles are written by correspondents and do not necessarily represent MSA’s views.