Select Page

What Rotax Max Western Cape Regional Karting 4 Report
Where Killarney Kart Track, Cape Town
When Saturday 3 June 2023
Community Western Cape Regional

The Northwester was not the only interference at Killarney on Saturday

Storming Cape Northwester weather and a flooded track that delayed the start and caused third heats to be canceled was only half the story at Killarney’s fourth round Rotax Max Western Province Karting Championship on Saturday. The weekend also became something of a mini national as several upcountry drivers arrived to do pre runs and shake things up even further as they prepared for the 1 July National back at Killarney.

Upcountry visitor KC Ensor-Smith set the tone by upsetting the locals in a drenched opening Senior Max heat. He left the best of the locals, the ever-improving Storm Lanfear to fend Charl Visser off for second. Another Jozi visitor, Muhammad Wally ended fourth from Matthew Wadeley, Ethan Stier, Andrew Rackstraw, and Ashton Repsold. A subtly drier track seemed to suit the locals better as Visser beat Lanfear to heat 2 to take the day, with Ensor-Smith third from Wadeley, Wally, Julius Schweiger, Stier and Repsold.

The locals however had no answer for another flying Jozi visitor, Bradley Liebenberg in DD2. Brad romped to the opening race win over Cape four, Jason Coetzee, Joseph Oelz, Sebastian Boyd, and Reza Levy, while Jared Jordan put one over Conor Hughes and Johan Hamman in Masters. Liebenberg went on to do the double as Boyd struck back to top the hometown race over DD2 rookie Levy and Oelz. Hughes put Coetzee between himself and Masters rivals Jordan and Hamman.

Jonno Wilson took a damp Junior Max high school Junior Max opening heat win over Jordon Wadeley, Mauro Da Luz, Wian Boshoff and Reese Koorzen. Ethan Deacon was next from Gianna Pascal and Cole Hewetson. An even wetter track in heat 2 shook it all up as William Marshall bounced back to beat overall winner Wilson, James Nash, Boschoff, Da Luz, Wadeley, Pascal and Georgia Lenaerts.

Another Jozi visitor, Caleb Odendaal also shook up the WP under-13 Mini Max status. He beat home hero Keagan Beaumont, Franco Gibhard, Franco Bensch and Cody Schultz to the first race win. Nicholas Lennox was next up from Emma Dowling and Kegan Martin. Beaumont however took revenge to take the day with the second heat win on a damper track over Lennox, Dowling, Jesse Swart, Martin, Bensch, Odendaal and Schultz.

Ronaldo Koen fought Brodi Dowling off to take a close wet opening under-11 Micro Max race win. Michael O’Mahoney likewise held Ruben Gelderblom off for third with Carter Cedras, Kiyaan Reddi, Benjamin Gibhard and Jayden van der Merwe in chase. Koen had it easier in a just as moist second heat from Dowling, O’Mahoney, Gelderblom, Cedras, Zac Hindley, Liam Wharton and Gibhard.

Yaqeen Gamieldien topped the baby Bambino dice with Slater Smith in chase ahead of Ebrahim Khalpey, Jake Steyn, Caleb Lingeveldt, Luke du Toit and Radhi Harris. Rotax Max regional karting action returns to Gauteng and Zwartkops this coming Saturday before the attention turns back to Killarney for the third round of the Rotax Max South African National Championship on Saturday 1 July.

Issued on behalf of Rotax Max Challenge

Photography by: Dave Nisbet

MSA Publishes media releases from a host of different sources on our website as a service to the sport. It is not practically possible to vet/approve every release that is published. Some news items and articles are written by correspondents and do not necessarily represent MSA’s views.