Select Page

A large appreciative crowd that gathered at Victory Raceway on Saturday in perfect racing conditions to watch round four of the Victory Club Championship were treated to yet another action packed evening of exciting entertainment and it was a lady driver that stole the show.

Chanell van Tonder put in a great performance by not only winning the Pinkrod class that caters specifically for ladies, but also winning the highly competitive 1660 class against some of the region’s top dirt oval racers. This performance also saw her take the driver of the day award.

Current championship leader Pierre van der Berg had his hands full in the Heavy Metal class fighting off a spirited attack from Elton Gilmer & Neville Ellard but fought hard & emerged victorious in the final. Pieta Victor put in another masterclass performance in the V8 American Saloons class to once again take a clean sweep on the night winning all 3 heats as well as the final, proving once again why he is a multiple SA Championship winner.

In the junior hotrod class Aidan Erasmus from Oudtshoorn garnered enough points in the heats to take the class win from East London visitor Jordan van der Merwe even though it was van der Merwe who triumphed in the final. Johan Schoeman proved that hard work, perseverance & a change in luck is what is needed as he put in another faultless performance to take his second overall win in a row at Victory Raceway in the Hotrod class.

The results in all of the classes were as follows –

Heavy Metals
–    1st  Pierre van der Berg (Bay Tech/Hangar 51/Quest/Advance Farming/Ibayi

Windscreens/FW Racing)
–    2nd Elton Gilmer (Standard Bank VAF/ProTune)
–    3rd  JP Coetzee (M&M Tyres/Ola’s Bodyworks)

–    1st  Chanell van Tonder (JBM Bodyworks)
–    2nd Bianca Westraadt (B-Nice Clothing)
–    3rd  Annuschke Landman (All About Paint/Eagles Karate/ TAG Solvents)

2.1 Modifieds
–    1st  Keegan Ellard (JM Racing/Ellard Engineering/Mossies Garage)
–    2nd Gerrit Olivier (Benecke Towing/M&M Tyres/ Ola’s Bodyworks)
–    3rd  Jaco Pitout (LR Racing)

V8 American Saloons
–    1st Pieta Victor (Ferobrake/ Custom City/All About Paint)
–    2nd Vincent Venter (Sicherheit Mega)
–    3rd Rohan van Vuuren (Fires Auto/Bodyman)

–    1st  Chanell van Tonder (JBM Bodyworks)
–    2nd Daniel Renison (AE Manufacturing)
–    3rd Marthinus Muller  (Redline Group)

Junior Hot Rods
–    1st  Aidan Erasmus (Beatus Racing/Kuylers)
–    2nd Jordan van der Merwe (Gonubie Hardware/Redline Group/CMS/Strictly VW)
–    3rd Quade de Lange (CC Racing/RPM Services/S&K Auto/Active Used Spares)

Hot Rods
–    1st  Johan Schoeman (Jo-Mac’s Mechanical/Grand Prix Panel Beaters)
–    2nd Johan Oberholzer
–    3rd Derick van der Westhuizen (Golden Camp Solutions)

Driver of the day Award – Chanell van Tonder

Published by:  Brendan Kelly

Picture Caption:  Rolling Thunder! American Saloons set to start heat three
Photography by:  Etienne Stassen

MSA Publishes media releases from a host of different sources on our website as a service to the sport.  It is not practically possible to vet/approve every release that is published.  Some news items and articles are written by correspondents and do not necessarily represent MSA’s views.