Select Page

What Investchem Formula 1600 Round 3 Report
Where Zwartkops Raceway, Pretoria
When Saturday 20 May 2023
Community South Africa National

Cape lad Dolinschek dominates Zwartkops Formula 1600

Cape Town lad Troy Dolinschek swept into the lead of the 2023 Investchem Formula 1600 championship with a dominant double win at Zwartkops Raceway’s Extreme Festival in Pretoria Saturday. Visitor Dolinschek literally came, saw, and conquered as he started on pole position before delivering a dominant pair of home wins as his closest rivals endured a day to forget at home.

Troy started on the front foot as he made double sure of a good day ahead, by planting his Sujean Property Investments Mygale on pole position by a decisive three tenths of a second over rookie karting sensation KC Ensor-Smith in his Vitro Frameless Glass car. More importantly, Dolinschek also had veteran Nicholas van Weely’s Magnificent Paints & Hardware machine and fellow Capetonian Jason Coetzee’s Mint Wrapworks car between him and championship rival, and leader Gerard Geldenhuys on the all-Mygale grid.

Investchem lad Siyabonga Mankonkwana lined up sixth alongside Antwan Geldenhuys in the second Abacus Divisions entry, Storm Lanfear’s AMD Engineering Investchem car, Production X driver Shrien Naidoo and a troubled Alex Vos’ Investchem DV Building Supplies Mygale next up. Formula 1600 stalwart Andrew Schofield was another to be troubled by his Fly Safair Investchem version, ahead of Karabo Malemela’s KMFT Morita Mygale.

Dolinschek blasted away, as Ensor-Smith fluffed his first race start to allow Nicholas van Weely, Antwan Geldenhuys and Jason Coetzee through. It went from bad to worse for Gerard Geldenhuys, who went wide in turn 1 to drop down the field behind Siyabonga Mankonkwana and Antwan Geldenhuys, Karabo Malemela and Shrien Naidoo.

Then Antwan Geldenhuys slipped up on lap 4 to allow Jason Coetzee onto the podium alongside Dolinschek and van Weely. Siyabonga Mankonkwana fought up to fourth and Gerard Geldenhuys back to fifth ahead of brother Antwan. KC Ensor-Smith had to settle for seventh from Shrien Naidoo, Andrew Schofield, Alex Vos, Storm Lanfear and Karabo Malemela.

The top four were surprised by a jumped start by Siyabonga Mankonkwana, who led the way for four laps in his red car before Troy Dolinschek took his rightful place up front. Siya still made Jason Coetzee and Nicholas van Weely work to get by as he came home fourth on the road, but he was promptly slapped with a 30 second penalty for the infringement at the start.

That allowed KC Ensor-Smith up to fourth from brothers Antwan and Gerard Geldenhuys, Andrew Schofield and Alex Vos. Karabo Malemela followed from Shrien Naidoo, Storm Lanfear and the penalised Mankonkwana. So, Troy Dolinschek ultimately stormed to an eight second overall victory over Nicholas van Weely, Jason Coetzee, and KC Ensor-Smith, with brothers Antwan and Gerard Geldenhuys next up.

That sees Troy Dolinschek into a handy 10-point championship lead over Gerard Geldenhuys, with Nick van Weely and Jason Coetzee now breathing down his neck, Siya Mankonkwana is top rookie in fifth, with KC Ensor Smith in pursuit.

It’s four weeks before more thrilling Investchem Formula 1600 action at next round’s Aldo Scribante’s midwinter Extreme Festival in Gqeberha. Don’t miss it!

Issued on behalf of Investchem Formula 1600

Photography by: Colin Windell

MSA Publishes media releases from a host of different sources on our website as a service to the sport. It is not practically possible to vet/approve every release that is published. Some news items and articles are written by correspondents and do not necessarily represent MSA’s views.