Select Page

TOYOTA GAZOO Racing South Africa (TGRSA) is gearing up for the second round of the 2024 South African Rally-Raid Championship (SARRC), the PS Laser ProMac Vryheid 400, set to take place on 24 and 25 May in the Vryheid area of northern KwaZulu-Natal. This inaugural event will provide competitors with another chance to score valuable points towards the championship and make history as the first victors of this brand-new event.

Following a spectacular performance at the Nkomazi 400 in Malalane last month, which saw TGRSA secure a one-two finish, the team is eager to continue their strong start to the season. Giniel de Villiers and co-driver Elvéne Vonk clinched the victory in Round 1, with teammates Guy Botterill and Dennis Murphy finishing in second place. This time, TGRSA will once again field their established crews: Henk Lategan and Brett Cummings, Giniel de Villiers and Elvéne Vonk, Guy Botterill and Dennis Murphy, and Saood Variawa and Francois Cazalet, all driving the latest version of the GR Hilux EVO.

The Vryheid 400 promises to be an exhilarating challenge with its varied and demanding terrain, which includes farmlands, rocky sections, and picturesque landscapes. This race marks the first time that the Vryheid area will host a round of the SARRC, offering new and exciting terrain for the competitors.

The event will kick off with a 14km Castrol Qualifying Race on Friday, 24 May, at 09:30 AM, followed by Stage One, a 38km loop starting at 1 PM. On Saturday, 25 May, the competitors will tackle Stage Two, a 175km route, starting at 8 AM. After completing the stage once, there will be a compulsory 30-minute service break at the Designated Service Point (DSP) at the airfield before tackling the stage again. The race will finish at the Vryheid Airfield, where the podium ceremonies will also take place.

Reflecting on the upcoming race, TGRSA Team Principal Shameer Variawa commented, “We are looking forward to the Vryheid 400 and are excited to tackle the new terrain. Our crews have been preparing diligently, and we are confident in their abilities to deliver strong performances. The opening round was a great success, and we aim to build on that momentum this weekend.”
Giniel de Villiers currently leads the Overall Championship standings, followed by Guy Botterill. Henk Lategan and Brett Cummings are determined to secure a healthy haul of points to kickstart their title chase after a challenging first round.

Fans can follow the race live via the RallySafe app, available for free download from the iStore and Google PlayStore. The app provides real-time updates, ensuring fans don’t miss out on any thrilling moments of the race. Updates will also be available on social media platforms:


Overall Championship Standings after Round 1:

1Giniel de Villiers30
2Guy Botterill23
3Jayden Els18
4Johan Horn15
5Fouché Blignaut12
6Chris Visser10
7Saood Variawa9
8Daniel Schröder8
9Johan de Bruyn7
10Gerhard Heinlein6

TOYOTA GAZOO Racing South Africa Acknowledges Its Sponsors
Toyota enjoys a mutually beneficial relationship with Toyota Financial Services, Innovation Group Services and Kinto.

Published by: Karabo Sethusha

MSA Publishes media releases from a host of different sources on our website as a service to the sport. It is not practically possible to vet/approve every release that is published. Some news items and articles are written by correspondents and do not necessarily represent MSA’s views.