Select Page

Team South Africa is gearing up for the prestigious Motocross of Nations event set to take place from 6 – 8 October 2023 at Ernée, France. With a formidable lineup of riders, the team is poised to showcase their skill and determination on the international motocross stage.

Without a doubt, the MXON is one of the biggest team events on the International Motocross calendar, with teams consisting of competitors from across the globe. The South African team will be competing against some of the best riders in the world.

Leading the charge is Camden Mc Lellan, the 85 European Champion and a prominent contender on the world stage in the MX2 Class. This will mark Mc Lellan’s third consecutive appearance representing South Africa at the MXoN event, bringing unparalleled experience and strength to the team. Accompanying Mc Lellan is Cameron Durow, the current South African MX1 and MX2 Champion will make his second appearance representing SA at the event, but now in the MXGP Class. Durow’s track record adds a layer of expertise to the team’s lineup. Alongside them is Jesse Wright, whose impressive performance in this year’s South African National Championship has demonstrated promising speed and potential in the MXOpen Class. Stepping in as the team’s reserve rider is Tristan Purdon, a top 5 runner in the British Championship, and with significant recent international experience, Purdon stands ready to contribute his expertise if called upon.

These riders will be proudly representing South Africa, under the guidance and assistance of Team Manager, Cheryl Mc Lellan.

The selection of this year’s team was voted upon by the South African Motocross Commission, based on criteria set out in the 2023 South African Motocross Standing Supplementary Regulations. Their discerning choices have resulted in a well-balanced roster of riders poised to showcase South Africa’s formidable motocross prowess.

FIM Motocross of Nations (MXoN):

  • Candidate must be the holder of a South African Passport. 
  • The selection of the 3 riders for MXoN may only be made by the Motocross Commission or MSA.  
  • The team shall comprise of a willing top rider from MX 1 rankings and a willing top rider from MX 2 rankings, according to the current MSA MX National ranking. 
  • The third rider (wildcard) shall be selected by either current international experience or current national experience and voted upon by the majority of the Motocross Commission. 

As the Motocross of Nations draws near, all eyes are on Team South Africa. Their commitment to excellence, combined with the extensive support from fans and sponsors, sets the stage for an exhilarating competition in Ernée. 

For further information and updates about Team South Africa’s journey at the 2023 Motocross of Nations, follow the social media pages or get in touch with the Team Manager.

Published on behalf of Tiegan Reed 

MSA Publishes media releases from a host of different sources on our website as a service to the sport.  It is not practically possible to vet/approve every release that is published.  Some news items and articles are written by correspondents and do not necessarily represent MSA’s views.