Select Page

Devin Robertson dominated Round 2 of the 2023 Don Bravo INEX Legends championship at Red Star Raceway this past Saturday (10 June)

The gird draw for the morning’s early race saw Devin Robertson heading up the field, with Tyler Robinson in second place. Sebastian Lanzetti and Jagger Robertson shared the second row of the grid, with Richard van Heerde and Jayden Goosen completing the top six. Cyril Jacobs Jnr drew seventh place, with the grid rounded out by newcomers Berlin Robinson, Christian Padayachee and Dawie Deetlefs.

Race 1 saw Devin Robertson take the early lead while Jagger Robertson shot through the field off the line to slot into second place. He had to keep Lanzetti at bay in the early stages before the top trio built a gap over each other. Tyler Robinson had a relatively lonely race to take fourth place. Further back, Goosen also managed to see off Jacobs Jnr and Van Heerde to finish fifth, with the latter pair taking their tussle for sixth place to the flag. Padayachee, Deetlefts and Berlin Robinson completed the field.

Van Heerde drew pole position for Race 2, ahead of Jagger Robertson. Lanzetti kept third place, ahead of Tyler Robinson, Devin Robertson, Goosen and Jacobs Jnr. Berlin Robinson, Padayachee and Deetlefs again completed the grid.

The second race featured a host of mini-battles. Jagger Robertson grabbed the early lead but had cousin Devin on his tail for the opening lap. However, on Lap 2, Devin made his way past and used the clean air in front of him to build a margin of comfort. Devin made took his second win ahead of Jagger.

In a repeat of the Race 1 podium, Lanzetti again took third place, but this time had his work cut out to stay ahead of Tyler Robinson. Goosen again took fifth place in the threeway tussle, including Van Heerde and Jacobs Jnr, with Van Heerde taking the upper hand this time. Padayachee beat Berlin Robinson to eighth place, with the latter looking more competitive than in Race 1. Deetlefs, although 18 seconds behind this pair, also improved significantly in the second race.

The day’s final race saw Van Heerde and Tyler Robinson heading up the Race 3 grid, with Lanzetti in third place. Jagger Robertson started ahead of Devin Robertson, while Goosen Jacobs Jnr, Padayachee, Berlin Robinson and Deetlefs completed the line-up.

Race 3 continued the status quo of closely contested battles. Tyler Robinson took the early lead but was passed by Jagger Robertson at the end of Lap 2. She soon lost out to Lanzetti and Devin Robertson as the latter set off after Jagger. On the final lap, both Lanzetti and Devin Robertson relegated Jagger Robertson to third place, but the battle was not over yet. Devin made it three wins from three starts with a photo finish and only 0.007 of a second between himself and Lanzetti. Jagger followed close behind, with Tyler Robinson a little bit further back.

Goosen again had the upper hand in his battle over Jacobs Jnr and Van Heerde. Padayachee beat Berlin Robinson to eighth place, with Deetlefs rounding out the field.

With a full house of points, Devin Robertson took the Round 2 honours from Jagger Robertson and Lanzetti, the same result repeated by the trio in the Professional class. Tyler Robinson beat Dawie Deetlefs in the Semi-Professional class, while Jayden Goosen took the Young Lions’ win over Jacobs Jnr and Padayachee. Van Heerde was the sole Masters’ competitor.

Round 3 of the 2023 Don Bravo INEX Legends championship will be held on the 17-18 August at Zwartkops Raceway.

Issued by Brandsponential on behalf of INEX Legends South Africa

Picture Caption: Don Bravo INEX Legends
Photography by: Renard Gelderblom

MSA Publishes media releases from a host of different sources on our website as a service to the sport. It is not practically possible to vet/approve every release that is published. Some news items and articles are written by correspondents and do not necessarily represent MSA’s views.