Select Page

What Historic Tour Race Report
Where Zwartkops Raceway, Pretoria
When Saturday 15 April 2023
Community Gauteng Regional

Zwartkops celebrates Chevy Can Am in Historic Festival style

A perfect balmy autumn’s afternoon greeted racers and fans alike as Zwartkops Raceway’s Historic Tour races provided fine entertainment on Saturday. Celebrating the half century of the dominant arrival of Basil van Rooyen’s incredible Little Chev Firenza V8, it was apt that Gqeberha visitor Rudolf de Vos Can Am dominated the day’s Historic races.

De Vos swept to a couple of Ben Morgenrood Historic Sprint race wins, over Andre van der Merwe and Richard Pott’s Porsches and another Chevy Can Am visitor, East London driver Matthew Gudmanz. Class C winner Jannie van Rooyen Scirocco was next up from Stuart König’s similar car, while Rene Jansen van Rensburg’s Escort won Class D, Sean Hepburn and Grant Cramer’s Datsuns took Classes E and F, Rob Clark’s Honda won Youngtimers and Josef Kotze’s Mercedes took Class G.

There was drama in race 2 when Gudmanz’ Can Am spilled fluid and spun, causing chaos in the following Class C pack, and the race to be stopped. None of that troubled de Vos, who cantered off to an easy victory after the restart, from Class D winner Jansen van Rensburg, Reg Sutton’s Escort, Gavin Lundin’s Datsun, Fred König in a VW Scirocco and Travis Jensen’s Datsun. Franz Jensen took Class E in his Datsun, Mike O’Sullivan’s Honda won the Youngtimers, Tihan van Rooyen’s Porsche 924 took Class F and Josef Kotze won again in Class G.

Two stunning Marlboro Crane Hire Le Mans Sports & GT races thrilled as Lola T70 pair, Mark du Toit’s white Doug Serrurier Spyder tribute and Larry Wilford’s green testament to David Piper’s coupé shared the wins. Peter Bailey’s Porsche 917 was second both times, from Andre van der Merwe Porsche 911, James Temple’s Shelby Daytona Coupé, Richard Pott’s Porsche, and Ben Morgenrood’s Trans Am Ford Mustang in race 1. Temple was fourth from Pott, Morgenrood, Eugene Gouws’ Can Am and Seef Fourie Jr in a Mercury Cougar in heat 2.

Morgenrood and his Mustang were back in action to take the opening Marlboro Crane Hire V8 Legends and Saloon Car race from Jaco Krynauw’s Datsun 240Z and monster trio
Fourie Jr’s Cougar, Mark du Toit in a Ford Fairlane Thunderbolt, and Paige Lindenberg’s Ford Fairlane. Jonathan Needham’s Ford Cortina followed from Warren Lombard in a BMW 2000 Ti, Marc Miller’s Alfa Romeo Sprint GT, Deon Schwabsky’s Ford Escort, and Roger Houston in an Alfa Giulia. Fourie took race 2 from du Toit, Krynauw, Needham, Miller, Lombard, Schwabsky, Houston, Kyle Brink’s Mini and John Ten Doeschate in a Dart Alfa.

Matt Nash and his Van Diemen RF81 took both Historic Single Seater races from old rival Andrew Horne in a Royale RP31. Patrick Dunseith was third in a Merlyn MK25 from Dulon duo Paul Richardson and Des Hillary. Ben van der Westhuizen struck back to end third in in race 2 from Nash, Horne, Dunseith and Richardson.

Formula GTi pair Renzo Ribeiro and Bevan Williams took double Formula Monoposto honours from Formula M gang, Didier Diedericks JM Gerber, Herman Krige, Clint Baudoux and Lushen Ramchander’s Super Vee. Gerber was third from Krige, Baudoux and Ramchander in race 2.

Historic Fines duo, Werner Hartzenberg’s Porsche 916 took back to front Ben Morgenrood Historic Pursuit honours from Wynand du Plessis Sr.’s Porsche 944 S2. Modified winner Hilton Ewart’s Alfetta edged rival Riaan Roux’s VW Scirocco for third, with Rob van Aarle’s Escort, Robbie Frank’s Lotus 23B, Gary Stacey in a Cortina, and Willem van Niekerk’s Marauder in chase.

The On Track Magazine Clubmen added a little contemporary action as Jagger Robertson’s BMW sped to double victory over Honda duo Lenard Archer and Dirk Lawrence in both races. Golf trio Adrian Dalton, Wayne Pereira and Wayne Lebotschy, and Rodney Kruis’ followed in race 1 as Dalton edged Pereira, Kruis, Lebotschy and Phillip Emmenis’ BMW in heat 2.

The Historic Tour now heads to the Dezzi Raceway on the KZN South Coast for its fifth round on 6 May, while Zwartkops gears up for the National Extreme Festival next on 20 May.

Issued on behalf of Zwartkops Raceway

Photography by: Colin Windell

MSA Publishes media releases from a host of different sources on our website as a service to the sport. It is not practically possible to vet/approve every release that is published. Some news items and articles are written by correspondents and do not necessarily represent MSA’s views.