Select Page

What Rotax Max Challenge Cape Regional Karting Round 5 Report
Where Killarney Kart Track, Cape Town
When Saturday 19 August 2023
Community Western Cape Regional

Province karters ready for National after great regional

Cape Town’s Rotax Max karters put the finishing touches to their preparation for next week’s National Finals in Pretoria with another great regional meeting at home at Killarney on Saturday. It was an important one with the big weekend looming at Zwartkops, but there were no holds barred in the fifth round regional races.

Investchem Formula 1600 frontrunner Jason Coetzee overcame opening race winner Sebastian Boyd to take the second and third race wins and the day in premier gearbox class DD2. Joseph Oelz was twice second en route to third overall, ahead of youngster Reza Levy, Jaden Jacobs, and Rafe Tayler. Jared Jordan took two Masters wins to Conor Hughes’ one to take the day ahead of Neville Chapman, Michael Jordan, Andre Steenkamp, and Johan Hamman.

National CompCare Polo Cup championship leader Charl Visser enjoyed an untroubled day of Rotax karting as he romped to a dominant triple Senior Max victory over Matthew Wadeley, Ethan Stier, F1600 racer Storm Lanfear, Zac Laden and GTC racer Andrew Rackstraw getting some wheel time too. The ever-improving William Marshall took two race wins over Keagan Beaumont to take the high school Junior Max overall trophy. Joshua Smit ended up third following a day-long spat with Jordon Wadeley, James Nash, and Ethan Deacon.

Keagan Beaumont romped to a triple under-13 Mini Max win. Brother Aiden had to work a little bit harder for second from Franco Bensch, Nicholas Lennox, Matthew Roach, and Michael Danks. Winning the first two heats was good enough for Michael O’Mahoney to take the under-11 Micro Max win from Ruan Lewis and Jayden van der Merwe, while Liam Wharton improved through the day to take the final win in fourth overall ahead of Zac Hindley and Carter Cedras.

Michael O’Mahoney bounced back from fourth in the opening heat to win the second and third races en route to do the double and also take the Bambino win for the day. The consistent Yaqeen Gamieldien was second from race 1 winner Slater Smith, Radhi Harris, Caleb Lingeveldt and Jake Steyn.

Most Cape Town karters will now make the trek to Zwartkops for the Rotax Max National Finals this coming weekend. The next Western Cape Championship round is back at Killarney for round 6 on 16 September.

Issued on behalf of Rotax Max Challenge

Photography by: Abri de Bruyn

MSA Publishes media releases from a host of different sources on our website as a service to the sport. It is not practically possible to vet/approve every release that is published. Some news items and articles are written by correspondents and do not necessarily represent MSA’s views.