Select Page

The 2023 season of the Rok Cup South Africa was filled with thrilling races, exceptional competitors, and unforgettable moments. Let’s take a look back at the season and the champions who emerged!

Season Recap for 2023
The opening round of the National Championship took place on the 25 March at the Celso Scribante track in Quebergha. The Cadet class was dominated by De Wet, who won the day by 3 points with Bezuidenhout in second and Venter in third. In the Kid Rok class, Billau won convincingly, followed closely by Cronje and Cornofsky in third. Mini Rok saw Mason clinching the day with 90 points, just one point ahead of Moore, with Moss taking the third spot. Mabunda M reigned supreme in the OK-J class, with Boshoff and Naidoo trailing behind. OK-N: Vostanis took the win of the day and the first National win of an OK-N class in the world. KZ2 Class, saw Roos scooping the overall win with 102 points.

Round Two of the championship took us to the Formula K Circuit in Benoni. The competition was fierce, with De Wet, Cornofsky, and Mason continuing their winning streaks in their respective classes. In the OK-J class, Dias emerged victorious, showing consistency and pace. OK-N: Snyman took the win of the day and the second National win of an OK-N class in South Africa. Zafiris came in second with 96 points.

Round Three was held in picturesque Cape Town at Killarney. Gamieldien, Cornofsky, and Moore took top spots in the Cadet, Kid Rok, and Mini Rok classes respectively. Boshoff clinched a clean sweep in the OK-J class, showing his dominance and skill. OK-N: Snyman took the win of the day with 94 points, followed by Nelon 92 points. The KZ-2 race saw Coertze clinch the Cape Town title, earning himself a ticket to the Superfinal of the ROK series in Lonato, Italy.

The final round of the National Championship took place at the Vereeniging Kart Circuit. This round was the defining moment for our champions, with De Wet, Billau, Mattao, Dias, and Snyman taking the top spots in their respective classes.

Class Champions 2023
Luhan De Wet won the Cadet class for drivers 5 to 8 Years Old. In the Kid Rok class, Kayde Cornofsky from Extreme racing team emerged as the champion. Mattao Mason from RKT triumphed in the Mini Rok class. Wian Boshoff from Worr Motorsport clinched the title in the OK-J class. Finally, Troy Snyman won the OK-N class and also competed at the “Road to the OKN World Cup,” at the FIA Karting World Championship and finished P14 overall.

Looking Forward to 2024
We’re excited about the all-new Cadet class for 2024, which promises easy handling, low maintenance, and close racing with a complete yet competitive Tillotson race package. The winner of this event will have the opportunity to race in Spain at the Tillotson Nations Cup in Sep 2024.

Here’s a quick look at the 2024 categories and prizes:
Each National champion across Kid Rok, Mini Rok, OKJ, OK-N, and KZ2 classes will earn a well-deserved spot in their respective categories at the Rok Cup Super-final in South Garda, Italy. The winning ticket includes full coverage for the chassis, engine, entry fee, and race tyres. Moreover, the OKJ and OK-N champions will also be awarded a Seat for the FIA Karting Academy Trophy and the OK-N World Cup, respectively.

We look forward to seeing you all back on track for 2024! Remember, it’s not about winning and losing; it’s about every day hard work and about thriving on a challenge. Champions are not the ones who always win races – champions are the ones who get out there and try.

Thank you to each and every competitor, spectator, partner, official and team that made this year a success. Rok Cup South Africa looks forward to working with each and every one of you in the new year. Success is an effort made by us all with a common goal.

Published by: Cindy van der Laan

MSA Publishes media releases from a host of different sources on our website as a service to the sport. It is not practically possible to vet/approve every release that is published. Some news items and articles are written by correspondents and do not necessarily represent MSA’s views.