

e-mail circuit@motorsport.co.za

MOTORSPORT SOUTH AFRICA NPC

Reg. No 1995/005605/08

First Floor, No. 9 Monza Close (Formerly 108), Kyalami Park, Midrand. P.O. Box 11499 Vorna Valley, 1686 Telephone (011) 466-2440. Fax: (086) 610 4616 National Number: 0861 MSA MSA (0861 672 672)

MSA COURT OF APPEAL 395: APPEAL LODGED BY VOLKSWAGEN SOUTH AFRICA ARISING FROM A PROTEST DECISION AT THE WESBANK SUPER SERIES EVENT HELD AT KILLARNEY, 22ND SEPTEMBER 2012. HEARING HELD IN THE MSA BOARDROOM, 9 MONZA CLOSE, KYALAMI PARK AT 14H00 ON WEDNESDAY, 24TH OCTOBER 2012.

Present:

- Messrs. Willie du Plessis Glenn Rowden Deon Slabbert Roger Stephen Keith Coleman Neal Robertson Devin Robertson Wayne Robertson Justin Robertson
- Court President Court Member Volkswagen SA – TC Clerk of the Course Volkswagen SA Big Boss Auto Competitor Competitor's Father Representative for Competitor

The court president introduced himself and the other court member. There were no objections to the composition of the court. Having heard the evidence presented, the court records the following:

- 1. The court was satisfied that the clutch removed from competitor Devin Robertson's car was clearly identified as the one raced with.
- 2. The opinion of the Technical Consultant (Deon Slabbert), namely that the clutch used was not supplied by VW Racing, was accepted by this court.
- 3. With reference to GCR 176, the Technical Consultant is of the opinion that an advantage was gained.

Based on the above, the court makes the following findings:

- 1. The penalty of exclusion originally handed down by the Clerk of the Course is re-instated;
- 2. The fine of R1,500 issued to the competitor by the Stewards also remains in force.
- 3. The full appeal fee is to be returned to Volkswagen SA.

All parties are reminded of their rights of further appeal to the MSA National Court of Appeal.

These findings read at 15h05 on the day of the hearing.

Ref. 158355/098













Motorsport South Africa is the only recognised motorsport Federation in South Africa Directors: S. E. Miller (Chairman), A. Taylor (Financial), J. du Toit, M. du Toit, P. du Toit, D. Lobb, N. McCann, C. Pienaar, B. Sipuka, D. Somerset, L. Steyn – Hon. Presidents : T. Kilburn, Mrs. B. Schoeman