Click on the image above

for more information on the book and to place an order.

April 5, 2022  
McLaren Racing has today announced that it has been awarded the FIA three-star Environmental Accreditation for the ninth year running.



The FIA Environmental Accreditation programme is aimed at helping global motor sport and mobility stakeholders measure and enhance their environmental performance. By introducing a clear and consistent environmental system, it provides a three-level framework against which to accredit their activities.

Since achieving the accreditation for the first time in 2013 and becoming the first Formula 1 team to do so, McLaren Racing has consistently demonstrated its leadership within the motor sport industry with a record number of accreditation renewals.

The three-star accreditation recognises that McLaren Racing is operating at the highest level of the framework, demonstrating best practice and a commitment to seek continual improvement through the implementation of an environmental management system.

Appointed in January this year, McLaren Racing’s first-ever Director of Sustainability, Kim Wilson, is leading the team’s strategy for a sustainable team.

Felipe Calderon, President of the FIA Environment and Disability Commission, said: “I congratulate McLaren Racing on its significant achievement of renewed Three-Star FIA Environmental Accreditation, which demonstrates the strength of its long-term commitment to environmental sustainability. McLaren became the first motor sport organisation in the world to receive FIA Environmental Accreditation in 2013. The actions carried out since then have brought today McLaren to the very highest standards in accordance with the Three-Star level. This award is the recognition that McLaren Racing have constantly been at the forefront of advanced innovation to create a sustainable sport for the future and marks a new milestone in this ongoing journey.”

Kim Wilson, Director of Sustainability, McLaren Racing, said: “McLaren Racing has a legacy of sustainable leadership, and we recognise our responsibility to provide solutions to sustainability challenges through our people, operations and practices. Receiving the FIA Environmental Accreditation for the ninth year running shows that we continue to make steps in the right direction, but we know that there is still so much more for us to do. We will continue to focus on implementing a circular mindset and educating our people to raise further environmental awareness, alongside the FIA’s recommended areas of improvement.”
About the FIA

The Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA) is the governing body for world motor sport and the federation of the world’s leading mobility organisations. Founded in 1904, with headquarters in Paris and Geneva, the FIA is a non-profit organisation. It brings together 244 Member Organisations from 146 countries on five continents. Its Member Clubs represent over 80 million road users and their families. The FIA promotes safe, sustainable and accessible mobility for all road users around the world. Further details can be found at


About the FIA Environmental Accreditation Programme

The FIA Environmental Accreditation Programme is aimed at helping motor sport and mobility stakeholders worldwide to measure and enhance their environmental performance. By introducing a clear and consistent environmental management system, it provides stakeholders with a three-level framework against which to accredit their activities:

1. One-Star – Basic practice: Demonstrate basic environmental performance and a commitment to improve

2. Two-Star – Good practice: Demonstrate good environmental performance and be close to follow internationally developed roadmaps toward environmental management

3. Three-Star – Best practice: Demonstrate best practice and commitment to seek continual improvement through the implementation of an environmental management system.


About McLaren Racing

McLaren Racing was founded by New Zealand racing driver Bruce McLaren in 1963. The team entered its first Formula 1 race in 1966, since when McLaren has won 20 Formula 1 world championships, more than 180 Formula 1 grands prix, the Indianapolis 500 three times, and the Le Mans 24 Hours at its first attempt. 

The team competes in the FIA Formula 1 World Championship with Lando Norris and Daniel Ricciardo, the NTT INDYCAR Series with Arrow McLaren SP drivers Pato O’Ward and Felix Rosenqvist, and the Extreme E Championship with Emma Gilmour and Tanner Foust.
McLaren was the first F1 team to be awarded the Carbon Trust Standard in 2010 and has retained it since on a bi-annual basis, most recently in February 2021. The team was also the first in F1 to be given the FIA Sustainability Accreditation Award at a three-star level in 2013 as part of the FIA Environmental Certification framework, before becoming a signatory to the UN Sports for Climate Action Commitment in 2021.




Supplied by Motorsport SA Administrator from Motorsport SA

OFFICE HOURS:   011 675 2220
(Monday – Thursday from 08:00 to 16:00 | Friday - 08:00 - 15:00)
After Hours from 17:00-18:00 (063 371 4760)

Offices Closed - Weekends and Public Holidays

General Support: | Website Queries:

2nd Floor, Meersig 1
C/O Upper Lake Lane & Constantia Blvd
Constantia Kloof, Roodepoort

Copyright . Motorsport. All rights reserved