May 18, 2021  

Supplied by Motorsport SA Administrator from Motorsport SA
The second round of the 2021 South African Karting Championship took place at the Formula K Circuit in Benoni over the weekend (15 May) and although some atmosphere was lost due to the Covid 19 ban on spectators, the racing was competitive and action packed.




The Bambino drivers always offer close racing and this weekend was no different. Race one saw Rafael de Sousa, Michael Danks and Kayde Cornofsky going wheel to wheel for race honours. A small touch between Michael and Kayde allowed Rafael to break from the pack and take the race win. Michael finished second, with Kayde third. Santiago Frade, Brodi Cooper Dowling and Andoni Pinto made up the top six.

Race two held some thrills and spills. Kayde took an early lead, but a mistake on lap eight saw him drop down to third. This left Andoni in front of the pack. On the final lap, Michael pounced, passing Andoni and claiming victory. Andoni held on to second, finishing ahead of Kayde, Santiago and Brodi. Rafael retired mid race.

The final heat saw a battle-royale between Santiago and Michael, with the lead changing just about every lap. It was, however, Michael who took the race win, ahead of Santiago and Kayde. Brodi finished fourth, with Andoni dropping down three places to end the race fifth.

Kid Rok:

Kid Rok saw some good racing throughout the field, but the day was really dominated by Jack Moore and Rafael da Silva. Rafael led the first few laps of heat one, before Jack made his pass stick to take victory. Maddox Mason took the final podium spot, finishing marginally ahead of Kai van Rensburg.

Ewan Venter made up two positions to take fifth, ahead of Michael Danks, Troy van der Laan, Santiago Frade and Declan Jurgens.

The top four remained uncharacteristically static in race two, with Jack again claiming victory over Rafael, albeit by only 0.089 of a second. Third place went to Kai, with Michael taking fourth. The biggest charge of the race came from Troy, who made up two positions.

There was a shake-up in heat three, with Rafael taking the win ahead of Jack. Troy continued to make advances through the field. He made up four places to earn a podium finish.

Mini Rok:   

Side-by-side racing typified all three Mini Rok heats as the class continues to grow from strength to strength.

It was heart break for Luviwe Sambudla who went from first to third in the final lap of the race. Ethan Lennon took the win from Wian Boshoff, Caleb Cotterell, Mahlori Mabunda and Christopher Tait.

Race two saw a massive crash involving Manelisi Nkomo and Mahlori. This resulted in a red flag and a complete restart. The first five laps saw a train of drivers competing for the number one spot. This included Luviwe, Ntiyiso Mabunda, Mohammed Moerat, Wian and Ethan Lennon. When the flag came out, however, it was quite a different picture with Luviwe taking the win from Ntiyiso and Joshua Moore. Notable drives came from Mattao Mason, who made up an impressive 13 places to end eighth and Luke Hill, who ended sixth after gaining seven positions.

Luviwe took another win in race three, this time finishing ahead of Ethan and Joshua. Wian finished fourth, with Caleb and Luke fifth and sixth respectively.

Christopher Tait put in a massive drive to gain 11 positions on his way to a top ten finish.


Nikolas Roos dominated the OKJ class, claiming all three race wins. KC Ensor-Smith took second place in heat one and third in both remaining races. Troy Snyman earned a third place and two seconds. Although the class is comparatively small with only nine drivers competing in the National championship, the numbers are expected to increase as the Mini Rok drivers move up. OKJ serves as a good stepping stone for those drivers who plan to compete in main circuit categories.


The first heat of KZ2 was fairly calm by the category’s standards, with Keagan Masters taking a convincing win from Roman de Beer and Fabienne Lanz. The drive of the race came from Josh le Roux who made up eight places to finish eighth.

The first five laps of race two saw an intense battle for fourth develop. Unfortunately, things went awry with a huge accident involving Bjorn Roos, Shrien Naidoo, Scott Falconer, Carlo Olivier, Wayland Wyman and Josh le Roux. Up front, Joshua Coertze joined the party and romped home with the win. Keagan was relegated to second, with Roman third.

The final race saw the same three podium finishers, but this time, it was Keagan from Joshua and Roman.

KZ / Masters:     
Connor Rogers was unstoppable in the KZ class, taking three very convincing victories.

Calvin Dias took second in race one, with Dominic Dias third. Jaco Nel had a big moment in turn one, spinning off the circuit mid race. Deon Auby was able to take evasive action, but Miguel Dias wasn’t as lucky and ended up joining Jaco on the side of the track.

Calvin and Dominic swapped podium places for race two. Calvin went on to take another second place finish in race three, with Craig Koekemoer taking the final podium spot.

The next race will take place at iDube Raceway on 26 and 27 June.

Published by:  Karting South Africa

Picture Caption:  A Mini Rok train

MSA Publishes media releases from a host of different sources on our website as a service to the sport.  It is not practically possible to vet/approve every release that is published.  Some news items and articles are written by correspondents and do not necessarily represent MSA’s views.

OFFICE HOURS:   011 675 2220
(Monday – Thursday from 08:00 to 16:00 | Friday - 08:00 - 15:00)
After Hours from 17:00-18:00 (063 371 4760)

Offices Closed - Weekends and Public Holidays

General Support: | Website Queries:

2nd Floor, Meersig 1
C/O Upper Lake Lane & Constantia Blvd
Constantia Kloof, Roodepoort

Copyright . Motorsport. All rights reserved