November 18, 2020  

Supplied by Motorsport SA Administrator from Motorsport SA
The 2020 Clubmans Racing season, which forms part of the Historic and Inland Championship, concluded this past Saturday (November 14) at Red Star Raceway as the season finale was hosted as a stand-alone event.


This was brought on by the national COVID-19 lockdown where after the season was shortened to four rounds; resulting in the championship being abandoned. Nonetheless, competitors were eager to race and put on a spectacular display of racing, along with the Midvaal Historic Car Club, with which it was grouped on race day.

Made up of various classes of turbo-charged and normally-aspirated race-cars, some fitted with slick tyres while others not, Clubmans Racing was created with the idea that irrespective of the power output of your race-car or a competitor’s choice of race tyre, competition should be equal amongst the various classes. To further even the playing field so that all can compete for the same title, an Index of Performance was introduced.

With three practices sessions on Friday, competitors utilised the sessions to familiarise themselves with track conditions and setup up their race-cars for Saturday’s Qualifying. Qualifying would also serve as a guide for the allocation of classes.

The opening race saw Dirk Lawrence (Class N1 - JDM Tuning/Vaal Timbers Honda Ballade) start on the outright pole-position. Class T2’s George Economides (Wealth Avenue BMW 328i) started right behind Lawrence with the pair running in close proximity for the opening laps. A charging Kalyn Miller (Class T2 – Midas Kia Pride) soon found herself behind Economides, who managed to keep her behind him and take the Class win behind Lawrence, who was the only competitor in his class.

Duane Brown (Brown’s Auto Ford Fiesta) took an unchallenged win in Class N2 with Andre Larsson (Spaceframe) in second and Victor Pardel (Ford Focus) taking third despite a retirement on Lap Four. Phillip Emmenis (Uniglide/Rotary Racing BMW M3) took the N2 Class honours ahead of Giles Darroch (GRD Motorsport VW Golf Mk1) with Wayne Perreira (Grange Workwear VW Golf Mk1) forced to retire on the second lap with an electrical issue.

Rodney Kruis (Honda Ballade) won the N3 Class comfortably with Kenny Darroch (GRD Motorsport VW Golf Mk1) forced to retire on Lap Two. The N4 Class battle was won by rookie, Johan van Heerden (JVH Perfirmance/Bon Appitit/Elegant Fuels VW Polo), ahead of Daniel Luwes (Honda Ballade) and Clubmans Racing’s second female driver, Mariaan Emmenis (Unigluide/Performance Lubricants BMW E30). Mike MacGregor (Grange Workwear VW Polo) finished all six laps as the only competitor in Class NX.

Race Two saw an inverted grid with Lawrence having to fight his way through the entire field. When the chequered-flag dropped, Lawrence eventually finished second on track, a few seconds behind Giles Darroch, who started in front of the entire grid. Giles topped his class ahead of Phillip Emmenis and Perreira, who managed to fix his electrical issue from Race One. Economides took back-to-back wins in his class with Miller retiring her Kia halfway through the race. Larsson was able to take the win in Race Two, having completed all eight laps with Pardel retiring on the penultimate lap ahead of Brown, who himself had to retire with a blown turbo-manifold. Kruis took another win in class with Kenny Darroch retiring on the warm up lap. Van Heerden backed up his Race One win with another ahead of Luwes and Mariaan Emmenis. MacGregor put in another strong drive to complete all eight laps of the final race.


  • Class N1: Dirk Lawrence
  • Class T2: George Economides, Kalyn Miller
  • Class N2: Phillip Emmenis, Giles Darroch, Wayne Perreira
  • Class T3: Andre Larsson, Duane Brown, Victor Pardel
  • Class N3: Rodney Kruis, Kenny Darroch
  • Class N4: Johan van Heerden, Daniel Luwes, Mariaan Emmenis
  • Class NX: Mike MacGregor

“As the new Chairman of Clubmans Racing, I would like to extend a huge shout out to all the Clubmans competitors at this race as well as at previous races for their sterling efforts and commitment to the 2020 season. To our sponsors, MOTUL and Formula Friction, thank you for your valuable contribution this year. In 2021 we will be implementing a simplistic set of rules that will make our racing far more exciting and rewarding,” said George Economides.

Published by:  Raymond Corwell

Picture Caption:  Race Two saw Giles Darroch start from pole and take the outright win.

MSA Publishes media releases from a host of different sources on our website as a service to the sport.  It is not practically possible to vet/approve every release that is published.  Some news items and articles are written by correspondents and do not necessarily represent MSA’s views.


OFFICE HOURS:   011 675 2220
(Monday – Thursday from 08:00 to 16:00 | Friday - 08:00 - 15:00)
After Hours from 17:00-18:00 (063 371 4760)

Offices Closed - Weekends and Public Holidays

General Support: | Website Queries:

2nd Floor, Meersig 1
C/O Upper Lake Lane & Constantia Blvd
Constantia Kloof, Roodepoort

Copyright . Motorsport. All rights reserved