The  latest edition of Motorsport World free!

September 16, 2020  

Supplied by Motorsport SA Administrator from Motorsport SA
For 4 long months we all hunkered down, and motorsport was something we remembered fondly. Thankfully the drought seems to be over, and with hardly any time to catch their breath, the Bridgestone BMW Club Racing Series contestants head to the Red Star Raceway outside Delmas on September 19 for the next round in this year’s championship, just 2 weeks after a successful outing in round 3 at Kyalami.


These indomitable warriors, like their counterparts across the full motorsport spectrum, have rekindled their passion for their favourite sport and hopefully that other vital element, the spectators, will join them soon to enjoy some good old fashioned motor racing. The absence of crowds has created a huge vacuum which needs to be filled soonest.

Perhaps unsurprisingly, after such a huge entry 2 weeks ago at the renowned Midrand venue, Red Star Raceway has not attracted as much interest but those who have thrown their hats into the ring will be mindful of the championship points on offer, and looking to capitalize on absences, forced or voluntary.

In Class A Rick Loureiro (Combined Racing BMW F30 335i) is the lone entrant at the time of writing. In Class B Andreas Meier (#TrainedAmateurs BMW E36 STC) broke out at Kyalami, but remains in the fold having elected to race on semi slicks, and is again joined by the usual suspects, Jan Eversteyn (African Surprise BMW E46 M3), Carlo Garbini (Kimbo Coffee BMW E46 330i Turbo), Oz Biagioni (Bio Pool Maintenance BMW E46 M3). Salvi Gualtieri (Sav Speed BMW E36 328i Turbo) also broke out of class C at Kyalami and will do battle in Class B henceforth

Class C is again led by Ian Kotwal (Retoria Motors BMW F22 235i), with Troy Cochran (Arrow Automotive BMW E36 M3), Neil Reynolds (Valve Hospital BMW E36 M3) and Renier Smith (#BelDiePolisie BMW E36 M3) all looking for a solid points haul as well.

In Class D Matthew Wadeley (#BelDiePolisie BMW E36 M3) should hold sway, but Varish Ganpath (Prodigy BMW E46 325Ci) and Bernard de Gouveia (de Gouveia Accountants BMW E36 328i) will be watching him closely. William Einkamerer will again pilot the Liqui Moly BMW E46 330i. A newcomer to the fold is Lyle Ramsay who will drive Shane Grobler’s old BMW E36 328i under the Fuchs Lubricants SA banner. His debut will be watched with interest.

Nicholas van Zyl (BMW E87 128i) leads the Class E entry list, but Manny Ribeiro (Bridgestone BMW E46 325i Touring) and Nicholas Fischer  (BMW E36 328i) will try to steal his thunder and hamper his progress at the top of the overall leader board. Carlos Gameiro (Lapace Construction BMW E30 325i) makes a welcome return.

The Bridgestone BMW Club Racing Series forms part of the Historic Inland Tour which will stage events for Historic Saloons, Sports & GT, Pursuit Series, Lotus Challenge and a 1 hour Endurance Race.


Published by:  Tony Alves

Photography by:

MSA Publishes media releases from a host of different sources on our website as a service to the sport.  It is not practically possible to vet/approve every release that is published.  Some news items and articles are written by correspondents and do not necessarily represent MSA’s views

T: 011 675 2220
M: 063 371 4760

2nd Floor, Meersig 1
C/O Upper Lake Lane & Constantia Blvd
Constantia Kloof, Roodepoort

Monday – Thursday from 08:00 to 16:00
Friday from 08:00 to 15:00

Copyright . Motorsport. All rights reserved