The  latest edition of Motorsport World free!

May 14, 2019  

Supplied by Motorsport SA Administrator from Motorsport SA
Glorious weather, close competition, spectacle and a large crowd typified round three of the 2019 Extreme Festival series at the Western Cape Killarney circuit on Saturday.

Officially, the Global Touring Car contingent headed up the programme. Daniel Rowe (VW Motorsport Jetta) won the opening race ahead of Robert Wolk (Chemical Logistics BMW), Simon Moss (All Power Audi), Michael van Rooyen (Gazoo Toyota Corolla) and Johan Fourie (EPS Couriers BMW). Rowe’s car suffered electronic gremlins in race two, after which Moss won from Masters, Van Rooyen, Fourie and Wolk. Bradley Liebenberg (VW Motorsport Golf GTi) took the first GTC2 race from Adrian Wood (Kyocera VW Golf GTi) and Charl Smalberger (Universal Health Golf GTi). Liebenberg crashed out of race two, leaving Smalberger to win ahead of Mandla Mdakane (Mini JCW) and Paul Hill (Altron Ford Focus).

Capetonian Jurie Swart (Alpine Autohaus Polo) weathered severe pressure, before winning the first Falken Polo Cup race from title leader Jeffrey Kruger (Universal Health Polo) and Dario Busi (Upstream Voice Polo). Race two was red-flagged after Simon Need (Photonics Polo) and Nathan Hammond (Trinity Protection Polo) touched and slammed into the pit wall together. After the restart, Bradley Liebenberg (Hello Mobile Polo) went on to win from Justin Oates (Total Polo) and Chris Shorter (AE Engine Polo).

The opening Liqui Moly Superbike race saw a huge dice at the front, with local hero David McFadden (RPM Centre Yamaha R1) winning from Clinton Seller (King Price Yamaha R1) by two-tenths of a second. In third place, another half a second behind, was veteran Lance Isaacs, on his Supabets BMW S1000RR. Seller took race two, eight hundreths of a second in front of McFadden, with Hayden Jonas (WP Motors Yamaha R1) third.

The first Liqui Moly Super600 race went to another Capetonian, with Kewyn Snyman (Hillbilly Yamaha YZF600) winning from Blaze Baker (King Price Yamaha YZF600) and Jared Schultz (ASAP Yamaha YZF600). Baker won the next time around, leading Snyman by one tenth of a second over the line, with Schultz grabbing another third place.

Scott Temple (Road to Race Mygale) scored the opening Investchem F1600 race victory ahead of Andrew Rackstraw (Investchem Mygale and Nicholas van Weely (Magnificent Paints Van Diemen). Temple won the next time out as well, leading home Van Weely and Tiago Rebelo (TRMS Mygale).

Reigning national champion Jaco Schriks (Cubed Coatings Rhema) won both the Hankook Formula Vee races, marginally ahead of Gert van den Berg (Hankook Rhema). Lushen Ramchander (TRA Forza) and Richard Carr (Formula Vee) took turns  on the respective final podium steps.

Franco Scribante (Chevron Suzuki) drove brilliantly to win both the Pirelli Sports and GT races, narrowly ahead of Craig Jarvis (Maui Ginetta 6,2) and Marcel Angel (Ferrari 458 GT3). Scribante also set the day’s quickest lap time of 1 min. 9,62 seconds.

The next round of the 2019 national Extreme Festival will be held at the Port Elizabeth Aldo Scribante circuit on Saturday, June 15.


Published by:

Picture Caption:  Daniel Rowe (VW Motorsport Jetta) fought for the race one lead with Robert Wolk (Chemical Logistics BMW).  Photography by:  Dave Ledbitter

MSA Publishes media releases from a host of different sources on our website as a service to the sport.  It is not practically possible to vet/approve every release that is published.  Some news items and articles are written by correspondents and do not necessarily represent MSA’s views.

T: 011 675 2220

2nd Floor, Meersig 1
C/O Upper Lake Lane & Constantia Blvd
Constantia Kloof, Roodepoort

Monday – Thursday from 08:00 to 16:00
Friday from 08:00 to 15:00

Copyright . Motorsport. All rights reserved