The latest edition of Motorsport World is now on sale at Spar – Pick n Pay – garage shops and airports.

April 11, 2019  

Supplied by Motorsport SA Administrator from Motorsport SA
The MotorMart VW Challenge brigade will make their way to the Midvaal Raceway in Meyerton for the third round of their 2019 championship on Saturday, 13 April.


 Current champion Rory Atkinson (BHIT Polo) has had the perfect start to the defence of his title, winning all four heats that have been run so far and leading the overall championship by 13 point from Stiaan Kriel (MotorMart/Kalex Polo) with Deon Holliday Jnr (Monitor Net Polo) just a single point further back. Waldie Meintjes (Allwagen Parts Polo) and Jacques Smith (Dirt Nurse Polo) are joint fourth in the overall standings with Bevin Masters (The CPS Warehouse Polo) and Dawie van der Merwe (Lee Thompson Racing Polo) in joint sixth place.
Although Atkinson has managed to dominate Class A this season, both Meintjes and Masters are capable of challenging him as are Jean-Pierre van der Walt (Platinum Wheels Polo) and Mohamed Dangor (MotorMart Polo). Mechanical gremlins have prevented Lyle Ramsay (Monroe Racing/Fuchs Lubricants Polo) from showing his true potential and he will be looking to get his championship challenge back on track at Midvaal.
Class B again has the biggest field with more than 15 cars expected on the grid. Kriel has been the dominant performer in the class, although a technical infringement in the second heat at Zwartkops cost him a handful of points. Judging by results so far this season, Holliday Jnr and Smith are likely to be his closest challengers although both Stuart Mack (Race Technology Polo) and Deon Holliday Snr (Centparts Centurion Polo) have both shown race leading pace at various stages. Chris Dale (Blue Belt Pozidrive Polo), Christiaan de Wet (MotorMart Polo) and Charisse van der Merwe (M&M Auto Clinic Polo) will be among those looking to add to their points tallies.
Van der Merwe (Lee Thompson Racing Polo) has finished every race this season on the Class C podium and leads the class championship by four points from Andy Gossman (Allwagen Parts Polo). Reno van Heerden (Taurus Polo) missed the last round at Zwartkops but should be on the grid at Midvaal and will be aiming to close the gap to the leaders. Farhaan Basha (Motronix Polo) claimed his first class win at Zwartkops and will be looking for more of the same while Philip Croeser (ATE Polo) and Zaeem Goolam (Praga Karts Polo) will also be out to bag as many points as possible.
As usual, Friday will be dedicated to practice session before the MotorMart VW Challenge competitors head out for qualifying at 08h40 on Saturday morning. The first of the day’s two 10-lap race is scheduled to start at 11h05 with the second race on the programme at 13h35.

Published by:  Paul Bedford

Picture Caption:  Rory Atkinson leads both the overall and Class A championships

MSA Publishes media releases from a host of different sources on our website as a service to the sport.  It is not practically possible to vet/approve every release that is published.  Some news items and articles are written by correspondents and do not necessarily represent MSA’s views.

T: 011 675 2220

2nd Floor, Meersig 1
C/O Upper Lake Lane & Constantia Blvd
Constantia Kloof, Roodepoort

Monday – Thursday from 08:00 to 16:00
Friday from 08:00 to 15:00

Copyright . Motorsport. All rights reserved