T: 011 675 2220
F: 086 612 3462

Office Hours:
Monday – Thursday from 08:00 to 16:00 | Friday - 08:00 - 15:00

Offices Closed - Weekends and Public Holidays

General Support: msa@motorsport.co.za
Website Queries: jaco@motorsport.co.za

Physical Address:
2nd Floor, Meersig 1, Corner of
Upper Lake Lane & Constantia Boulevard,
Constantia Kloof, Roodepoort

Postal Address:
PO Box 6677

GPS Coordinates:
S 26.15342 | E027.92239 | Elev:  1628m

T:  031 266 5640
F:  086 612 3464
E:  dbn@motorsport.co.za
H:  Monday - Friday 08:30-13:00

T: 021 556 1026
F: 086 612 3465
E:  ctn@motorsport.co.za
H:  Monday - Thursday 08:00 - 16:00 Friday:  08:00 - 15:00

The latest edition of Motorsport World is now on sale. It contains the latest news and views from South African and International motorsport

April 21, 2017  

Supplied by Motorsport SA Administrator from Motorsport SA
DOHA - The first full stage of racing in this year's Qatar Cross Country Rally saw Toyota Gazoo Racing SA's Leeroy Poulter and navigator Dirk von Zitzewitz post the fourth-fastest time, despite effectively opening the road. The pair also suffered two punctures on the 334km-long stage, leaving them with no spare tyre for the last 200km of the stage.

Poulter/Von Zitzewitz found themselves in third place after yesterday's opening stage of the 2017 edition of the event, just 9.7 seconds behind early leaders Nasser Al Attiyah and navigator Matthieu Baumel, in an identical Toyota Hilux. They drew number two on the road, however, which meant they started the day behind Miroslav Zapletal and Marek Sykora (H3 Evo VII), who drew the first starting position.

"With only a two-minute dust gap, we caught up with Zapletal just 17 km into the stage," said Poulter after arriving in the bivouac at Doha. "We managed to pass him, but then we were opening the road."

The pair suffered their first puncture at the 65km mark, at which point MINI driver Yazeed Al Rajhi and navigator Timo Gottschalk passed them. A second puncture followed at the 130km mark, forcing the Toyota crew to adopt a more cautious approach for the final 200km of the stage.

"Leeroy and Dirk did an excellent job out there today. The conditions were tough, especially with them having to open the road. But they pushed on, and posted excellent times despite the punctures," said Toyota Gazoo Racing SA Team Principal, Glyn Hall. "The Toyota Hilux also ran like clockwork, and we are very pleased with today's result."

The stage was won by MINI's Jakub Prygonski and navigator Tom Colsoul, with Al Rajhi/Gottschalk finishing second, some 1:32 back. The Dutch Toyota Hilux crew of Erik van Loon and Wouter Rosegaar posted the third-fastest time, 3:57 behind Prygonksi/Colsoul.

Poulter/Von Zitzewitz' time today puts them in fourth place in the overall standings, 5:38.80 behind race leader Prygonksi. Favourites and early leaders Al Attiyah/Baumel suffered a broken gear lever on today's stage, as well as power steering problems. This dropped them down to 6th in the overall standings, 12:20.10 behind the leaders.

"Tomorrow's stage is another long one. At 353km, it certainly won't be easy, but at least Leeroy and Dirk will be starting fourth on the road, which will help a lot," concluded Hall.

The 2017 Qatar Cross Country Rally features five stages, and will finish in the Qatari capital of Doha on Saturday, April 22, 2017.

1.    Prygonski/Colsoul (MINI)               3:19:33.0
2.    Al Rajhi/Gottschalk (MINI)              +1:32
3.    Van Loon/Rosegaar           (Toyota)        +3:57
4.    Poulter/Von Zitzewitz (Toyota)    +5:44
5.    Abu Issa/Panseri (MINI)                 +7:08

1.    Prygonski/Colsoul (MINI)               3:24:15.0
2.    Al Rajhi/Gottschalk (MINI)              +1:25
3.    Van Loon/Rosegaar           (Toyota)        +3:59
4.    Poulter/Von Zitzewitz (Toyota)    +5:38
5.    Abu Issa/Panseri (MINI)                 +7:13

Toyota Motorsport South Africa Acknowledges Its Sponsors and Specialist Official Supplier and Technical Partners
Toyota enjoys a mutually beneficial relationship with Total, Toyota Financial Services and the Innovation Group. Also, Imperial Toyota, SKF, Spanjaard, Robor, OMP, NGK, Donaldson, Mastercraft, Edgecam, 3M, Bandit Signs, Shatterprufe, Supreme Springs, Smith's Manufacturing, TRD, Peritus Forex and First National Battery.

Published by:  Reche van Niekerk

MSA Publishes media releases from a host of different sources on our website as a service to the sport.  It is not practically possible to vet/approve every release that is published.  Some news items and articles are written by correspondents and do not necessarily represent MSA’s views.


T: 0861 672 672
F: 011 675 2219
E: msa@motorsport.co.za

2nd Floor, Meersig 1
C/O Upper Lake Lane & Constantia Blvd
Constantia Kloof, Roodepoort

PO Box 6677

Monday – Thursday from 08:00 to 16:00
Friday from 08:00 to 15:00

Copyright . Motorsport. All rights reserved